The Truckload Carriers Association (TCA) 2023 Annual Convention, Truckload 2023: Orlando, culminated with the announcement of the 2022 TCA Fleet Safety Awards Grand Prize. The contest is made possible by Presenting Sponsor, Great West Casualty Company, and Supporting Sponsors, Detroit Assurance and DriverReach.

The Grand Prize was awarded to FTC Transportation, Inc of Oklahoma City, OK in the small carrier division (total annual mileage of less than 25 million) and Bison Transport, Inc. of Winnipeg, Manitoba in the large carrier division (total annual mileage of 25 million or more). Both carriers demonstrated that they had exceptional safety programs and impressive accident frequency ratios over the last year.

Both companies, as well as all carriers which placed in the top three of their mileage-based divisions, will be recognized again during TCA’s 2023 Safety & Security Meeting, to be held June 11-13, at The Marriott River Center hotel located in San Antonio, TX.

“TCA is proud to recognize FTC Transportation, Inc. and Bison Transport, Inc. for their outstanding achievements in safety,” said TCA President Jim Ward. “This year, we received the most entries ever in the history of the Fleet Safety Awards, showing that TCA members are truly industry leaders when it comes to safety. FTC Transportation and Bison are very deserving of the Grand Prize as a symbol of their amazing efforts to improve safety on our roadways.”

To be eligible for the TCA Fleet Safety Award Grand Prize, fleets must first submit their accident frequency ratio per million miles driven. The three carriers with the lowest ratios are identified as the winners for each of six mileage-based divisions. These carriers then undergo an audit by independent experts to ensure the accuracy of their results. TCA announced the names of the 18 division winners in January 2022 and invited them to submit further documentation about their overall safety programs, both on and off the highway, to be eligible for the Grand Prize. After review by a diverse industry panel of judges, the winning companies were deemed to have best demonstrated their commitment to improving safety on North America’s highways.